Past Award Winners

2023 Winner

Xiaotong Zhang and Kamal Youcef-Toumi : “Magnetohydrodynamic Energy Harvester for Low-Power Pipe Instrumentation”; IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, vol. 27, no. 6, pp. 4718-4728, December 2022, doi: 10.1109/TMECH.2022.3164340.

For an innovative energy harvesting device to power monitoring sensors in water pipes.

2022 Winner

P. Shokrollahi, Y. P. Lai, S. Rash-Ahmadi, V. Stewart, M. Mohammadigheisar, L-A. Huber, N. Matsuura, A. E. H. Zavodni, J. Parkinson, E. Diller: “Blindly Controlled Magnetically Actuated Capsule for Noninvasive Sampling of the Gastrointestinal Microbiome”; IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, vol. 26, no. 5, pp. 2616-2628, October 2021, doi: 10.1109/TMECH.2020.3043454.

For the innovative simple design, blind control, and thorough evaluation of a magnetically actuated capsule for microbiome fluid sampling in the gastrointestinal tract. 

2021 Winner

E. Moya-Lasheras and C. Sagues: “Run-to-Run Control With Bayesian Optimization for Soft Landing of Short-Stroke Reluctance Actuators”; IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, vol. 25, no. 6, pp. 2645-2656, December 2020, doi: 10.1109/TMECH.2020.2987942.

For the innovative approach to realizing soft landing control of short-stroke reluctance actuators.

2020 Winner

Hiroshi Matsuki,  Kenta Nagano, and Yasutaka Fujimoto: “Bilateral Drive Gear—A Highly Backdrivable Reduction Gearbox for Robotic Actuators”; IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, vol. 24, no. 6, pp. 2661-2673, December 2019, doi: 10.1109/TMECH.2019.2946403.

For the innovative method for maximizing two-way drive efficiencies of back-drivable gearboxes.

2019 Winner

Donghyun Kim, Junhyeok Ahn, Orion Campbell, Nicholas Paine, and Luis Sentis: “Investigations of a Robotic Test Bed With Viscoelastic Liquid Cooled Actuators”; IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, vol. 23, no. 6, pp. 2704-2714, December 2018, doi: 10.1109/TMECH.2018.2872176.

For the innovative approach to the design and development of an actuator with sustained high torque output.

2018 Winner

E. Csencsics and G. Schitter, “System Design and Control of a Resonant Fast Steering Mirror for Lissajous-based Scanning,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume: 22, Issue: 5, October 2017, Pages: 1963-1972.

For the innovative approach to the design of an energy efficient, highly accurate motion control system.

2017 Winner

Dylan P. Losey, Andrew Erwin, Craig G. McDonald, Fabrizio Sergi, and Marcia K. O’Malley, “A Time-Domain Approach to Control of Series Elastic Actuators: Adaptive Torque and Passivity-Based Impedance Control,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume: 21, Issue: 4, August 2016, Pages: 2085-2096.

For the development of an original approach to robustly controlling the impedance of series elastic actuators.

2016 Co-winners

Sangok Seok; Albert Wang; Meng Yee (Michael) Chuah; Dong Jin Hyun; Jongwoo Lee; David M. Otten; Jeffrey H. Lang; Sangbae Kim, “Design Principles for Energy-Efficient Legged Locomotion and Implementation on the MIT Cheetah Robot,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume: 120, Issue: 3, June 2015, Pages: 1117-1129.

For the innovative approach to the design of an energy efficient locomotion system.

Sungwook Yang, Robert A. MacLachlan and Cameron N. Riviere, “Manipulator Design and Operation of a Six-Degree-of-Freedom Handheld Tremor-Canceling Microsurgical Instrument,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume: 20, Issue: 2, April 2014, Pages: 761-7728.

For the ground-breaking development of a practical, high-performance tool to increase precision in surgery.

2015 Winner

Donghai Wang, Kok-Meng Lee, Jiajie Guo and Can-Jun Yang, “Adaptive Knee Joint Exoskeleton Based on Biological Geometries,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume: 19, Issue: 4, August 2014, Pages: 1268-1278.

For the innovative analytical modeling approach to design an adaptive knee joint exoskeleton with minimized internal joint forces.

2014 Winner

TaeWon Seo and Metin Sitti, “Tank-Like Module-Based Climbing Robot Using Passive Compliant Joints,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 18, Issue 1, February 2013, Pages: 397-408.

For melding high performance with mechanical simplicity in an innovative climbing robot, through the use of novel adhesive materials and ingenious passive components.

2013 Winner

Satoshi Ueki, Haruhisa Kawasaki, Satoshi Ito, Yutaka Nishimoto, Motoyuki Abe, Takaaki Aoki, Yasuhiko Ishigure, Takeo Ojika, and Tetsuya Mouri, “Development of a Hand-Assist Robot With Multi-Degrees-of-Freedom for Rehabilitation Therapy,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 17, Issue 1, February 2012, Pages: 136-146.

For the innovative mechatronic design of a self-directed rehabilitation system to improve the quality of life of stroke victims.

2012 Winner

Barbara Mazzolai, Alessio Mondini, Paolo Corradi, Cecilia Laschi, Virgilio Mattoli, Edoardo Sinibaldi, and Paolo Dario, “A Miniaturized Mechatronic System Inspired by Plant Roots for Soil Exploration,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 16, Issue 2, April 2011, Pages: 201-212.

The paper is the result of a bio-inspired research creatively combining different skills (chemistry for the actuator, mechanics and control for the gravitropism and hydrotropism, and electronics) with its multidisciplinary novelty well proven by experimental evidence.

2011 Winner

Tin Lun Lam, Huihuan Qian and Yangsheng Xu, “Omnidirectional Steering Interface and Control for a Four-Wheel Independent Steering Vehicle,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 15, Issue 3, June 2010, Pages: 329-338.

for the contributions in innovative design and control of an active steer-by-wire human interface for a four-wheel independent steering vehicle that maintains target wheel orientations while satisfying appropriate kinematic constraints.

2010 Winner

Christof Zwyssig, Johann W. Kolar and Simon D. Round, “Megaspeed Drive Systems: Pushing Beyond 1 Million r/min,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 14, Issue 5, October 2009, Pages: 564-574.

for the contributions in innovative design, prototyping and optimization of a machine with megaspeed (1,000,000 r/min) operation capability for emerging applications in power generation, machining, and turbo compressor systems.

2009 Winner

Nabil Zemiti, Ivan Bricault, Céline Fouard, Bénédicte Sanchez and Philippe Cinquin, “LPR:  A CT and MR-Compatible Puncture Robot to Enhance Accuracy and Safety of Image-Guided Interventions,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 13, Issue 3, June 2008, Pages: 306-315.

for the contributions in  innovative and comprehensive development of mechatronics system by combining a CT and MR-compatible puncture robot to enhance accuracy and safety of image-guided interventions.

2008 Co-winners

Satori Arimitsu, Ken Sasaki, Hiroshi Hosaka, Michimasa Itoh, Kenji Ishida, and Akiko Ito, “Seat Belt Vibration as a Stimulating Device for Awakening Drivers,” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 12, Issue 5, Oct. 2007, Pages: 511-518.

for contributing to the implementation and evaluation of mechatronic devices for enhancement of automobile safety.

Dan Stoianovici, Alexandru Patriciu, Doru Petrisor, Dumitru Mazilu and  Louis Kavoussi, “A New Type of Motor: Pneumatic Step Motor, ” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 12, Issue 1, Feb. 2007, Pages: 98-106.

for contributing to the theory, design and implementation of a pneumatic step motor suitable for deployment in medical MRI applications.